Recommended Reading

Books of the Realized
By authors


1000—The Levels of Consciousness and a Map of the Stages of Awakening for Spiritual Seekers and Teachers—Revised, Updated & Expanded 2019 Second Edition
The RASA companion

View on Amazon
Read an extensive preview here.

From the spine.

«1000 is a complete guide to LOCs (Levels of Consciousness) and the new Map of Awakening.

Ramaji gives an overview of the lower levels of consciousness (LOC 30 to LOC 499). He explains the emergence of spirituality (LOC 500 to 559). He then describes the advanced seeker stages (LOC 560 to LOC 589), getting ready to leap into non-duality.

Ramaji covers the four non-dual stages in considerable depth. Entries from his private spiritual journal illuminate this ultimate journey.

The new non-dual sage goes from local space spontaneity (LOC 600s) to cosmic or universal consciousness (LOC 700s), to divine unknowing (LOC 800s), to, for a few, the hesitant hermit (LOC 900s). He arrives at and stabilizes in the Absolute (LOC 1000).»

Additional commentary.

«In order to assist the advanced seekers and spiritual teachers around the world, Ramaji offers case studies and other in depth practical explanations in order to show how each major non-dual stage is different from the others. He also does all he can to describe the nature and experience of the Absolute. He calls upon Ramana and Nisargadatta frequently in his efforts to explain the Absolute which is by Its very nature ineffable and utterly beyond words. There has never been a book like 1000 before. If you are on the spiritual path in any way, this is a book that you simply cannot do without.»

More books by Ramaji are available on here, amongst others. The ebook «The Yoga of Self-Inquiry», a condensed and revised version of Ramaji’s «Who Am I? Meditation», is available as a free download here (for Apple devices only, as PDF here).


Nisargadatta Maharaj

Like the Zen masters of old, Nisargadatta’s style is abrupt, provocative, and immensely profound—cutting to the core and wasting little effort on inessentials. His terse but potent sayings are known for their ability to trigger shifts in consciousness, just by hearing, or even reading them.

Dr. Robert Powell

Pointers from Nisargadatta Maharaj

View on Amazon
View as PDF







Prior to Consciousness

View on Amazon
View as PDF






Consciousness and the Absolute

View on Amazon
View as PDF






Other books by Nisargadatta Maharaj are available here, amongst others, as well as PDF.
Seeds of Consciousness
The Nectar of Immortality
The Ultimate Medicine
Nisarga Yoga Manual—Key Instructions by Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj
Be Free—108 Gems of Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj
The Blissful Life—As Realized Through the Teachings of Sri Nisargadatta Maharaj (by Dr. Robert Powell)
More books as PDF


Ramana Maharshi
The Silent Sage of Mount Arunāchala

«Who Am I?»
(Self-inquiry basic instructions)

View on Amazon
View as PDF





Forty Verses on Reality
(Diving deeper into Self-inquiry)

View on Amazon
View as PDF (with a skippable commentary by S.S. Cohen)





Other books by Ramana Maharshi are available here (and here and here), amongst others, as well as PDF.
The Path of Sri Ramana—Part One (includes profound Self-inquiry instructions)
The Path of Sri Ramana—Part Two
The Garland of the Guru’s Sayings (Guru Vachaka Kovai)
Upadesa Saram (The Quintessence of Spiritual Instruction)
Padamalai (partly translated from Tamil, a complete translation is available here)
More books as PDF


Karl Renz
One of the clearest of the fully Awakened ones (LOC 1000) from Germany

Heaven and Hell

View on Amazon







Echoes of Silence—Avadhuta Gita revisited

View on Amazon







If You Wake Up, Don’t Take It Personally

View on Amazon







Other books by Karl Renz are available on here, amongst others.


Eckhart Tolle

The Power of Now—A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment
(Ideal for beginners)

View on Amazon






A New Earth—Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose
(Contains clear and detailed descriptions of the many «facets of the ego», amongst others)

View on Amazon






Other Authors

The Ashtavakra Gita and the Tao Te Ching
As part of the book «The Perennial Way—Expanded Edition. New English translations by Bart Marshall.»

View on Amazon
View just the Ashtavakra Gita as PDF
View just the Tao Te Ching as PDF

Another excellent version of the Tao Te Ching (or «Dao De Jing») by Lao Tzu is available as PDF here.



Consciousness Strikes
The Gospel of Ramesh Balsekar

View on Amazon
View as PDF





The Avadhuta Gita
By Sri Dattatreya

View on Amazon
View as PDF (alternative translation)





Shankara’s Viveka-Chudamani

View on Amazon
View as PDF (alternative translation)






The Bhagavad Gita with Shankara’s Commentary

View on Amazon
View as PDF
View as PDF (classical translation)






The Complete Mystical Works of Meister Eckhart

View on Amazon
View as PDF






A Year with Hafiz
Versions by Daniel Ladinsky

View on Amazon

View selected poems of Hafiz as PDF

View selected poems of Rumi as PDF




Go directly to

Writings and Sayings Map of Awakening (LOC) Pearls from the Deep (Blog) Videos

Share this page via